All the best to Weaver Vale Labour

Just wanted to say that I had a thoroughly enjoyabe time in my attempt to become the Labour Party candidate for Weaver Vale.

It was all a bit of a whirlwind – my shortlist interview was on March 1 and once chosen, I only had just over two weeks to win support from around the constituency. Luckily my Uncle Ray, who went to the local school, drove me more than 400 miles in four days as I attempted to meet every member in Weaver Vale.

My campaign was about three main issues  – protecting frontline services, securing the second Mersey crossing and kickstarting the Northwich Vision regeneration project which the Tory-controlled Cheshire West and Chester Council seem to have kicked into the long grass.

I picked up a real feeling that mid Cheshire tends to get ignored by CWAC and if selected, I would have made standing up for Northwich one of my main priorities as the town has absolutely enormous potential.

It was always going to be hard to get selected as the leading candidate had been active in the Weaver Vale local party for the last 15 years. He managed to win with 77 votes. I only had 15 days to campaign from scratch but am really proud 46 people voted for me.

So I’d like to thank everyone I met, especially those who were kind enough to back me.

I thought the local party had a great choice of four local candidates incuding the excellent Justin Madders who came from the neighbouring constituency of Ellesmere Port and Ben Johnson (a really talented party official who will go far) who grew up in nearby Warrington.

Anyway, I wish Weaver Vale and its new candidate John Stockton all the very best in the fight to keep the seat.

As for me, I’ll be back on the Prescott Express travelling round the country for the General Election, doing everything we can to get the Labour vote out in the marginal seats that will ultimately decide who gets into No10.

But as I promised at the beginning of my Weaver Vale campaign, win or lose, I’ll be back in the next few weeks with the battle bus to help them keep it Labour.

Now for a well-earned day off with my girls – Roz and Ava Grace. Off to The Deep this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

